Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


At IPS we believe that children are born ready, able and eager to learn. They actively reach out to interact with other people, and in the world around them.

Development is not an automatic process, however. It depends on each unique child having opportunities to interact in positive relationships and enabling environments.

This is why our EYFS curriculum is underpinned by the four main themes outlined in the 'Development Matters' curriculum document.


A Unique Child + Positive Relationships + Enabling Environments

= Learning and Development


We commit ourselves to the principles that inform these four main themes. Namely that:

  • Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured
  • Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships
  • Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners and parents
  • Children learn and develop in different ways.


At IPS our EYFS Practitioners:

  • teach children by ensuring challenging, playful opportunities across the prime and specific areas of learning and development
  • understand and observe each child’s development and learning, assess progress and plan for next steps
  • support children to develop a positive sense of their own identity and culture
  • identify any need for additional support
  • keep children safe
  • value and respect all children


They provide Positive relationships that are:

  • warm and loving, and foster a sense of belonging
  • sensitive and responsive to the child’s needs, feelings and interests
  • supportive of the child’s own efforts and independence
  • consistent in setting clear boundaries
  • stimulating 


They provide Enabling Environments that:

  • value all people
  • value learning


They offer:

  • stimulating resources, relevant to all the children’s cultures and communities
  • rich learning opportunities through play and playful teaching
  • support for children


The IPS EYFS Profile summarises and describes children’s attainment at the end of the EYFS. It is based on ongoing observation and assessment in the three prime and four specific areas of learning, and the three learning characteristics, set out below:


The prime areas of learning:
Reception - counting 1

Communication and Language

  • Listening and Attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking


Physical Development

  • Moving and Handling
  • Health and Self-care



Personal, Social and Emotional DevelopmentRec D 7 v2

  • Making Relationships
  • Self Confidence and Self-awareness
  • Managing Feelings and Behaviour





The specific areas of learning:


  • Reading
  • Writing



  • Numbers Shape
  • Space and Measure


Understanding the WorldIMG 5437 v2

  • People and communities
  • The world
  • Technology


Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and Using Media and Materials
  • Being imaginative



The Characteristics of Effective Early Learning

Playing and Exploring (Engagement)

  • Finding out and exploring
  • Playing with what they know
  • Being willing to ‘have a go’


Active Learning (Motivation)

  • Being involved and concentrating
  • Keeping on trying
  • Enjoying achieving what they set out to do


Creating and thinking critically (Thinking)

  • Having their own ideas
  • Making links
  • Choosing ways to do things